top of page

Bold Decorating

I live in a house with 17 foot vaulted ceilings. I have a huge wall in the front room. Over the years I have wondered what I could put there since it looked so plain. I have tried quilts, huge clocks, and shelves but all looked so weirdly tiny on the massive space. One day my husband brought home a boat trailer he wanted and it came with a 14 foot metal row boat from the 1940’s. We were thinking of what to do with the boat when I got the idea of hanging it on my wall.

I have a habit of decorating with vintage, rustic and industrial items. Not everyone cares for my tastes but luckily my husband does. My husband built heavy duty metal racks and bolted them to the main wall supports. (Do not try to hang a boat on the wall without a few men helping.) Just saying! I will admit it does look a bit like we live at Cabela’s but I do love it.

We have the boat bolted to the wall plus have chains attached for added safety.

Don’t be afraid to be bold or different. As long as you like it, that’s all that matters.

A

bottom of page